Home Football XFL: Everything You Need To Know

XFL: Everything You Need To Know

XFL: Everything You Need To Know
XFL Commissioner Oliver Luck
Oliver Luck is XFL Commissioner. Meaning the league will have more “Luck” this time. ZING!

The XFL will reboot in February 2020. Let’s take a look at everything we need to know heading into the new season.

The XFL was the brainchild of Vince McMahon back in 2001.

With a 50 percent stake owned by NBC, the league was set to launch as the “extra fun league,” and the rules were outrageous.

For one, coin tosses were not in the original XFL. Instead, one player from each team would line up at opposing goal lines and run a 50-yard dash to pick up a resting ball. The winner got the ball first.

In the first game, a player broke his collarbone going for the ball.

… wow.

The league failed, but there was some semblance of hope in the league rebooting with better rules.

Now, 19 years after the end of the original XFL, the league is ready to reboot. There is a whole new plan in place, and the league is taking major strides to ensure the success of the league.

There is so much promise in this product, and I see major success in the future.

Several things are different about this new league, so let’s take a look at the differences from the first year.

What is the XFL?

The XFL is a new football league created by WWE owner, Vince McMahon. Consisting of eight teams, the league will start play in February 2020.

What does XFL stand for?

According to Vince McMahon, the XFL stands for, “Extra fun league.”

What are the XFL teams in the 2020 relaunch?

The XFL teams are the Defenders, the Guardians, the Vipers, the Renegades, the BattleHawks, the Roughnecks, the Wildcats and the Dragons. Check out more details on XFL teams on the league website.

What are the XFL cities?

XFL New York- New York will be home of the Guardians at the start of 2020.

XFL Dallas- Dallas will be home of the Renegades at the start of 2020.

XFL St. Louis- St. Louis will be home of the BattleHawks at the start of 2020.

XFL Houston- Houston will be home of the Roughnecks at the start of 2020.

XFL DC- DC will be home of the Defenders at the start of 2020.

XFL LA- Los Angeles will be home of the Wildcats at the start of 2020.

XFL Tampa Bay- Tampa Bay will be home of the Vipers at the start of 2020.

XFL Seattle- Seattle will be home of the Dragons at the start of 2020.

Who are the notable XFL coaches?

Out of the eight XFL teams, five of them will be coached by individuals with NFL or NCAA experience.

XFL NY- Kevin Gilbride, Super Bowl champion and former Offensive Coordinator of the New York Giants

XFL Tampa Bay- Marc Trestman, former head coach of the Chicago Bears

XFL Dallas- Bob Stoops, former coach of Oklahoma University and the only coach of the BCS era to win the Rose Bowl, Orange Bowl, Fiesta Bowl and Sugar Bowl

XFL LA- Winston Moss, former defensive assistant of the Green Bay Packers

XFL Seattle- Jim Zorn, former head coach of the Washington Redskins, and Seahawks great– The first QB in franchise history and a one-time team MVP.

Who are the notable XFL players?

The XFL draft is broken into two “phases.” Rumor has it Johnny Manziel and Tim Tebow might make the leap. Landry Jones was the first former NFL player to sign a deal and he will play for the D.C. Defenders. Former Giants Super Bowl winning WR Hakeem Nicks will also be in the league.

Other known players taken in Phase 1 included running back Christine Michael (BattleHawks), receiver Sammie Coates (Roughnecks), quarterback Tyree Jackson (Defenders) and running back Andre Williams (Roughnecks).

Former Ohio State star Cardale Jones will play for the D.C. Defenders.

Phillip Walker will play for the Houston Roughnecks.

Former Penn State and Oakland Raiders QB Matt McGloin will play for the New York Guardians.

Former Georgia Bulldog and Chiefs QB Aaron Murray will play for the Tampa Bay Vipers.

When does the XFL start?

Game play for the XFL will start in February 2020, and the draft will happen in mid-October of this year.

What is the XFL salary?

The following is how players will be paid in the XFL in year one. The XFL salary has four tiers:

  • Tier 1: $25,000 to $60,000 per game: 1 franchise designation
  • Tier 2: $15,000 to $17,500 per game: 3 slots per team
  • Tier 3: $6,000 to $10,000 per game: 23 slots per team
  • Tier 4: $5,000 to $6,000 per game: 18 slots per team

What is the XFL schedule?

Week 1

DateTimeTV channel
Feb. 82 p.m. ETABC
Feb. 85 p.m. ETFox
Feb. 92 p.m. ETFox
Feb. 95 p.m. ETESPN

Week 2

DateTimeTV channel
Feb. 152 p.m. ETABC
Feb. 155 p.m. ETFox
Feb. 163 p.m. ETABC
Feb. 166 p.m. ETFS1

Week 3

DateTimeTV channel
Feb. 222 p.m. ETABC
Feb. 225 p.m. ETFox
Feb. 233 p.m. ETESPN
Feb. 236 p.m. ETFS1

Week 4

DateTimeTV channel
Feb. 292 p.m. ETABC
Feb. 295 p.m. ETFox
March 14 p.m. ETFS1
March 17 p.m. ETESPN 2

Week 5

DateTimeTV channel
March 72 p.m. ETABC
March 85 p.m. ETFox
March 13 p.m. ETFS1
March 17 (or 9:30) p.m. ETESPN

Week 6

DateTimeTV channel
March 142 p.m. ETABC
March 145 p.m. ETFS2
March 154 p.m. ETFS1
March 157 p.m. ETESPN2

Week 7

DateTimeTV channel
March 212 p.m. ETABC
March 215 p.m. ETFox
March 223 p.m. ETABC
March 226 p.m. ETFS1

Week 8

DateTimeTV channel
March 282 p.m. ETABC
March 285 p.m. ETFox
March 293 p.m. ETABC
March 296 p.m. ETFS1

Week 9

DateTimeTV channel
April 28 p.m. ETFox
April 42 p.m. ETABC
April 512 p.m. ETESPN
April 56 p.m. ETFS1

Week 10

DateTimeTV channel
April 98 p.m. ETFox
April 112 p.m. ETABC
April 1212 p.m. ETFS1
April 123 p.m. ETESPN


DateTimeTV channel
April 183 p.m. ETFox
April 193 p.m. ETESPN

XFL championship game

DateTimeTV channel
April 263 p.m. ETESPN


Does the XFL have a TV deal?

Yes it does. The XFL landed a television deal with the Walt Disney Company and Fox. Games will be shown on ABC, Fox, Fox Sports One, Fox Sports Two, ESPN and ESPN2.

Is Oliver Luck in the XFL?

Oliver Luck, father of former (sigh) Colt Andrew Luck, is the CEO of the XFL.

Is Bob Stoops in the XFL?

Bob Stoops came out of retirement to be the head coach and general manager of the Dallas Renegades. Stoops had an illustrious career as the coach of the Oklahoma Sooners. Stoops was the head coach of the Sooners from 1999-2016, compiling a national championship, 10 Big 12 titles and a career record of 190-48.

Related XFL Content: