Home NFL Miami Dolphins

Miami Dolphins

miami dolphins logo

You can’t talk about the Miami Dolphins without talking about Mercury Morris talking about the 1972 undefeated Dolphins team every year after the lone undefeated team loses.

The Dolphins are the only team in NFL history to finish an entire season undefeated; their 1972 season ended without a loss and culminated in a victory in Super Bowl VII.

The Dolphins are the oldest professional sports team in Florida. Which is fitting as most of Florida’s residents are the oldest living humanoids in the galaxy.

The Dolphins were founded by attorney Joe Robbie and actor Danny Thomas in 1966. Miami joined the NFL as a result of the 1970 NFL merger.

After winning the Super Bowl in 1972, the Dolphins won Super Bowl VIII, becoming the first team to appear in three consecutive Super Bowls, and the second team to win back-to-back championships. Miami also appeared in Super Bowl XVII and Super Bowl XIX, losing both games.

The Dolphins were coached by Don Shula, the most successful head coach in professional football history he led the NFL at time of his retirement in total games won. Under Shula, the Dolphins posted losing records in only two of his 26 seasons as the head coach.

During the period spanning 1983 to the end of 1999, quarterback Dan Marino became one of the most prolific passers in NFL history, breaking numerous league passing records. Marino led the Dolphins to five division titles, 10 playoff appearances, and an appearance in Super Bowl XIX before retiring following the 1999 season.

Miami Dolphins Stadium: Hard Rock Stadium
Miami Dolphins Logo: A sunburst with a leaping dolphin wearing a football helmet bearing the letter M.
Miami Dolphins Colors: Aqua, orange, white, marine blue
Miami Dolphins Mascot: T.D. the Dolphin, Dolfan Denny, Flipper

How Many Super Bowls Have the Miami Dolphins Won?
2 – 1972 (VII), 1973 (VIII)