Home NFL Arizona Cardinals

Arizona Cardinals

arizona cardinals logo

Hard to believe but the Arizona Cardinals are the 2nd oldest franchise in the NFL! I was this many days old when I learned that.

The team was established in 1898 as the Morgan Athletic Club, an amateur football team in Chicago, and joined the NFL as a charter member on September 17, 1920.

The Cardinals moved to St. Louis in 1960 and played there until 1987. Which was the era of Neil Lomax and Roy Green, and a young, spry Ottis Anderson.

Before the 1988 season, the team moved west to Tempe, Arizona and played their home games for the next 18 seasons at Sun Devil Stadium on the campus of Arizona State University, aka The Valley of The Sun (in Chris Berman voice).

The Cardinals won two NFL championships, both while the team was based in Chicago. Since winning the championship in 1947, the team sucked on an annual basis currently holds the longest active championship drought of North American sports at 75 consecutive seasons. In 2012, the Cardinals became the first NFL franchise to lose 700 games.

The Cardinals have made it to one Super Bowl, which they lost to the Steelers 27-23 on a RIDICULOUS TD catch by Santonio Holmes in the final seconds. To this day it may be the most beautiful catch you will ever see.

The Cardinals are the only NFL team who have never lost a playoff game at home, with a 5–0 record.

Arizona Cardinals Stadium: State Farm Stadium
Arizona Cardinals Logo: Since in 1947, the team’s logo is a cardinal bird perched on the laces of a football.
Arizona Cardinals Colors: Cardinal Red, white, black
Arizona Cardinals Mascot: Big Red

How Many Super Bowls Have the Indianapolis Colts Won?